Posts Tagged ‘Rock’

Argent – Dance In The Smoke

Posted: April 11, 2013 in Music, Rock
Tags: , ,

Former Zombies keyboardist Rod Argent formed the band Argent in 1969, they released their debut self-titled album in 1970. Dance In The Smoke, written by Rod Argent & Chris White, is a track on their debut, plus, it is also a track on the CBS double sampler album Fill Your Head With Rock. The band on the recording are Rod Argent keyboards & vocals, Russ Ballard guitar & vocals, Jim Rodford bass, guitar & vocals and Robert Henrit drums.


Gypsy – Gypsy Queen Part 1

Posted: April 8, 2013 in Music, Rock
Tags: , ,

Gypsy from Minnesota, released their self-titled first album in 1970, it was a double album and the song Gypsy Queen, Part 1, written by Enrico Rosenbaum, was released as a single from the album. The band on this record were Enrico Rosenbaum guitar & vocals, James Walsh keyboards & vocals, James Johnson guitar & vocals, James Epstein drums & Doni Larson bass.

Written by Joni Mitchell and taken from the album Later That Same Year, the 1970 single Woodstock by Matthews Southern Comfort  reached no.1 in UK singles chart.

Canned Heat made the UK charts in 1969 with Let’s Work Together written by Wilbert Harrison. It is also on their 1970 album Future Blues.

The Who – The Seeker

Posted: April 4, 2013 in Music, Rock
Tags: , , ,

Written by Pete Townshend, The Seeker was released as a single in 1970 by The Who. It was moderately successful, reaching no.19 in the UK charts. It can be found on the 1971 compilation album Meaty Beaty Big and Bouncy.

Released in 1969 as Humble Pie’s first single, Natural Born Boogie, written by Steve Marriott, reached no.4 in the UK single charts, and was their highest UK entry. The single and its B-side Wrist Job cab be found as bonus tracks on the CD version of their first album from 1969, As Safe As Yesterday Is. Humble Pie were former Small Faces front man Steve Marriott vocals, guitar, former Herd front man Peter Frampton vocals, guitar, former Spooky Tooth member Greg Ridley vocals, bass and Jerry Shirley drums. The title was spelt Natural Born Bugie on the records.

The opening title track from 1970’s second album by Atomic Rooster. Death Walks Behind You, was written by Vincent Crane keyboards and John Du Cann vocals and guitar, Paul Hammond drums, completed the line-up.

Just A Little Communication the closing song on 1973’s Communication, the third album by Hookfoot,¬† was written by Caleb Quaye. Hookfoot were Caleb Quaye vocals, guitar, piano. Ian Duck vocals, guitar, harmonica, Roger Pope drums, David Glover bass (replaced by Fred Gandy after the release of the second album.

Hawkwind – Hurry On Sundown

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Music, Rock
Tags: , ,

Hawkwind’s self-titled first album released in 1970 opened with Hurry On Sundown credited to Dave Brock originally, but later releases credit the tracks to Brock/Hawkwind. It is quite different to their later albums, being more of a folky/jam album as opposed to the more electric riffy space rock that Hawkwind are more renowned for. The line-up on the album were Dave Brock vocals, guitar & keyboards, Nik Turner saxophone, flute & vocals, Huw Lloyd-Langton guitar & vocals, John A. Harrison bass & vocals, Dik Mik synthesizer, Terry Ollis drums.

Spooky Tooth – The Mirror

Posted: March 28, 2013 in Music, Rock
Tags: , ,

The Mirror from the 1974 album of the same name by Spooky Tooth. At the time of this recording they were Gary Wright vocals & keyboards, Mick Jones guitars, Mike Patto vocals, keyboards & percussion, Mike Kellie drums, Val Burke vocals & bass.